Facebook, Inc v Callverse Pty Ltd – Facebook entitled to .au domain name

CCH report on Facebook, Inc’s complaint with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Centre, regarding an Australian company’s registration of the domain name www.facebook.com.au.
According to CCH, Facebook was successful, having satisfied the criteria as set out in paragraph 4(a) of Schedule A of the .au Dispute Resolution Policy. The Administrative Panel determined that:
(i) the respondent’s domain name was identical or confusingly similar to Facebook’s trade marks, and
(ii) the respondent had no rights or legitimate interest in respect of the domain name, and
(iii) the domain name had been registered or subsequently used in bad faith.
The Panel rejected the respondent’s assertions that it was intending to operate a “click-to-call service” from the website and had made a “considerable financial investment” in its business model for the website. It ordered that the respondent’s domain name be transferred to Facebook.
CCH – Facebook entitled to .au domain name…